Do You Know Someone Who Rants?

“Rant” as defined by Collins Paperback Dictionary, “to utter (something) in loud, violent, or bombastic tones.”

Do you know someone who rants? I do. I mean, I know someone who rants. Well, okay, maybe I rant sometimes too. I rant about the medication I have to take to treat Rheumatoid Arthritis. Sometimes, I rant silently in my head about the drivers on the highway or the crowds at the shopping mall.

Many years ago, when things didn’t go my way, I could walk around with a head full of steam for hours, maybe even days. Huffing and puffing and spewing! (In those days I smoked cigarettes too…yuk.) The education system didn’t cooperate with me, the government didn’t cooperate and my husband and my children didn’t cooperate with me. Did I miss anything? Thank goodness, that’s ALL behind me now. You may wonder what happened, what changed me from rant-or to rant-free. Well, my children grew up and left the education system, I don’t have anything to do with the government because I don’t file my taxes and my husband DUMPED me. Just kidding!

Seriously though, being a giver and a receiver of rants, I know they can range from mild to severe, harmless to hurtful. Have you ever been hurt by someone’s ranting? Conversely, have you ever hurt someone by your ranting? Some believe they have reasons to rant. Some aren’t even aware when they rant. Some have habitual rants. What about causes, are their legitimate causes of rant behavior? May be and may be not. Regardless of the origins, if the rant consists of yelling, screaming, profane language and generally crawling up one side and down the other, it is hurtful and therefore, inappropriate. So, what’s to be done about rants? How does one rise above whether a giver or a receiver?

Here are some things I’ve learned. First and foremost, the rant giver should seek medical advice, especially if the behavior is hurtful to someone, including oneself. There has to be a desire and an effort to change. If the situation is extreme, get outside help immediately. If the situation is non-threatening and a rant is in progress, focus your attention in your solar plexus and feel your breath expand and contract. Breathe in and out, in and out. Stay present with your breathing. Tune out the person doing the rant and think about the love you have for something or someone. Feel the love and feel the breath. Stay with it and stay focused. The result will be that the rant will begin to fade. The really important thing to remember is; don’t get sucked into the emotion and the drama. Stay with the breath, stay with the feeling of love and you will be at peace. The rant will stop and the person may say something like, “I’m really being negative, I better stop.” However, it may take a bit longer with a person who is less self-aware. Don’t give up; with practice it will become easy and very effective. The rant giver may also use this tactic to dissipate and let go of negative energy.

Another helpful tool I found to be effective for the giver and receiver of rant behavior is to aspire to loftier goals. Grow and nurture a desire for love, harmony and peace. Read, research and retain information about the true natures of love, harmony and peace. Find answers to the questions. What is love? How can I learn to feel loving? How can I bring harmony to my existence? What is peace and how can I feel at peace within myself? Immerse yourself daily (this takes effort), in activity that cultivates building a desire for incorporating the qualities of love, harmony and peace into each moment. Don’t try to be perfect, relax, be gentle and let your self become aware of the qualities of love, harmony and peace. Mother Teresa said, “Everyone has got some good. Some hide it, some neglect it, but it is there.”

Will you rise above and see a “grandeurvision” for your self?

Copyright, Marianne Irvine and Grandeurvision, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Marianne Irvine and Grandeurvision with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “Do You Know Someone Who Rants?

Leave a Reply

