The Gift of Gratitude: Day 12

On the road again.

On the road again.

Today, I went to see my doctor, the rheumatologist. Whenever I drive anywhere I always pray and give thanks. It may sound silly to some, but it’s a habit I got into a while ago and it just feels right to me. I pray for a safe journey, I pray for the other vehicles on the road with me and I give thanks for the thousands of miles of safe driving. I’m grateful for another safe drive today.

Kelseys

Stopped for a late lunch.

I could do a little rant about the medical system, but I won’t because this IS my gratitude blog.

My rheumatologist is the best. She is up-to-date on the latest research and prescribed treatments for RA. She follows the protocol to the letter. She is a good doctor. And she cares about her patients and doesn’t want to see them die from unmanaged RA. I am grateful to my rheumatologist for her great work.

Relaxing drive.

Relaxing drive.

Do you ever have moments where your mind takes you on a ride? Moments when one negative thought enters. Then another follows. Then another and another. The next thing you know you’re spiraling down, down. Since I started this gratitude thing I find that those moments are few and far between and when they do come, I stop them before it gets out of hand. Just this morning, it happened. One negative thought entered, then another (I even forget what they were). Immediately, I said, “No, no, no, not in God’s whole universe, you’re not going to do this.” Of course, I was speaking to my mind. It worked. Ten seconds later I was back to my happy self. I’m grateful that I am recognizing the negative thoughts that enter my consciousness and stop them in their tracks. I’m grateful to my friend Rose who told me the “No, no, no, not in God’s whole universe” part. It has become a habit.

So my fine friends, I’ll say good night once again and thank you for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

