The Gift of Gratitude: Day 25

My friend Karen (see Day 9), asked me, “How has it (gratitude) changed your life?” Great question. So, I thought I’d write about in this blog post.

When I live my day with a feeling of gratitude I am happy, uplifted, loving and hopeful despite the conditions of my life. These qualities are important to me because I have struggled with feelings that are the exact opposite. I’ve known sadness, downheartedness (if that’s a word), and hopelessness quite well. Instead of giving up, I’ve chosen to search for the meaning of life within the struggle, the disease and the poverty.

Some of mom's collection of stuffed animals.

I’m learning to not let the conditions of my life affect my happiness. I don’t want my happiness to depend on what’s going on in my life, how much stuff I have or don’t have, how young I look or don’t look, whether I have a disease or don’t have a disease, etc. etc. I want to be fr-ee from all of that attachment. I’m learning just to BE happy. BE happy in the midst of struggle, disease and poverty. The deliberate practice of daily gratitude is helping me BE happy. And being associated with like-minded people such as Karen is helping also.

I am grateful for the gifts of gratitude.

Thanks for visiting my blog. Have a wonderful evening or day.

Leave a Reply

