The Gift of Gratitude: Day 30

Happy boy!

Woo Whoo! Thirty days of gratitude so far. Seventy to go. I feel great!

Did you know that there is a growing body of scientific evidence that suggests gratitude increases ones level of well-being? Wikipedia states that, “grateful people are happier, less depressed, less stressed, and more satisfied with their lives and social relationships.”

I for one, believe it. I have experienced the evidence first hand. The practice of gratitude has without a doubt increased my level of well-being. I do feel less stress, less depressed and happier. My outward circumstances haven’t changed, but I’ve changed on the inside and that was my goal. I have peace most of the time and when I don’t it’s because I slipped out of feeling grateful.

Tomorrow a full moon appears.

Mahatma Gandhi said, ” Each one has to find his peace from within. And peace to be real must be unaffected by outside circumstances.”

I have lived a long time thinking thoughts that start with, “I’ll be happy when….I’ll have peace when….”

I am grateful that I don’t want to live like that any longer. I much prefer to think the thoughts, “I have peace now. I am happy now.”

Would you like to have peace and happiness now?

3 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 30

  1. Once you’ve reached a state of gratitude and peace, it’s easy to recognize those who don’t have it. They seem to always have issues and “drama” in their lives. I find that the more time I spend around people like that, the more I have to work at staying in my grateful, peaceful place.

    • Hey Nancy, how are you doing? I hope all is well. I too, have noticed the “issues” and “drama” of others. It can be very draining. Hopefully a good example will initiate transformation. On the other hand, the way of “drama” may be their path. I wish you well.

  2. Pingback: Miracle Mama Challenge: High on Gratitude | Miracle Mama

Leave a Reply

