The Gift of Gratitude: Day 34

Going to the post office to pick up my mail is not usually an errand that brings me pleasure. Most of the time all I get are bills to be paid, but today was different.

I opened my post office box and found a notice card that told me to pick up a package at the front desk. As I walked toward the front desk, I wondered who would have sent a package to me. The friendly red-haired lady behind the counter said, “Hi Marianne. Looks like you’ve got a package.” I handed over the notice card and she went into the back room while I chatted with the other lady who worked behind the counter. A few minutes later I held the small package in my hand while I read the sender’s name, “Karen Larkin.” (see Day 8). I commented to the red-haired lady, “Isn’t this a nice surprise?” and I left the office on route to do more errands.

As I went about my other errands, I wondered what could be inside the package? I held the package to my nose and wondered if I could smell a scent. I shook the package to see if I could hear a rattle. I squeezed the package to see if it was hard or soft. I tried to open the package, but there was just too much tape that secured its contents. “Oh well.” I sighed. “I guess I’ll just have to wait until I get home.”

Sunset in the pouring rain on the drive home today.

Can you guess what the first thing I did when I got home was? I went to the drawer with the scissors in it. I guided the scissors through the tape and ripped open the brown paper. Inside was a beautiful neatly written card and a box of “Power Thought Cards” by Louise Hay. I took the cellophane wrapping off the card deck and opened the box. The cards are square and about the size of a coaster. They are brightly coloured and illustrated with affirmative sayings on them. I took a picture of the front and back of one card for you to see.

Front view.

Back view.

Here is an example; on the front the cards says, “I let go of all expectations.” Turn it over to the other side and it says, “I flow freely and lovingly with Life. I love myself. I know that only good awaits me at every turn.” There is a total of 64 cards in all.

Isn’t that the sweetest thing? I am grateful to Karen for making my day special. And I’m grateful to Karen for giving me the idea to pay it forward by sending someone a nice surprise to make their day special also.

Thank you Karen. Hope you have a wonderful day.

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 34

    • I really like them. They are much more pleasing to look at than the strategically placed sticky notes with my hen scratching all over them. I think Louise Hay has just about covered everything in her 64 card deck that I need to affirm. Love to you too Karen.

Leave a Reply

