The Gift of Gratitude: Gratitude Challenge Day 40

Give some one or some thing the gift of your gratitude and you will feel like a million bucks. Really, it works.

If you want to feel like a million bucks all the time, then give and feel gratitude to everyone and everything all the time. In every encounter say to yourself, “I am grateful for you.” Then feel the gratitude fill your heart. You will find that your mood lifts to new heights. You will feel inspired, energized and happy. The more you practice, the greater you will feel and the high you get from doing this, will amaze you.

I don’t know why I wasn’t taught this stuff when I was a teenager. I never knew we are capable of making our very own high from the inside. We don’t need alcohol or drugs to do it. It just takes practice. Consistent, focused practice. It does not matter what your life circumstances are like; good or bad, rich or poor. Everyone is capable of creating the amazing high of feeling grateful. Gratitude is truly a gift.

Drunk with gratitude.

You don’t need a reason to feel grateful. You don’t need someone to do something nice to feel grateful. You can feel grateful for no reason at all. Sound ridiculous? Then, I challenge you to try a 100 day gratitude challenge. See for yourself.

Today is day 40 of the gratitude challenge I gave to myself and the preceding paragraphs are what I’ve learned so far.

The following is a list of items that I do daily;

  • When I wake up, before I get out of bed, I take a few deep breaths and thank the air for filling my lungs (after all, where would we be without air).  Then I close my eyes, put my attention in my heart area and feel a sense of gratitude, which is a warm, joyful feeling to me.  I repeat to myself, “I feel grateful.”
  • As I go about my day, I continue saying to myself, “I am grateful.  I feel great.  I feel amazing.”  When I meet up with other people, I smile and thank them for helping me (no matter what).  Everyone is a gift.  Everyone has a gift.  Silently, I say to myself, “I am grateful for you.”   Then, I put my attention in my heart area and feel a sense of gratitude.  Breathe in gratitude.    
  • At the end of the day, I take a piece of paper and write down all the people, places and things that I am grateful for.  Sometimes I list the reason why or I list a quality that I truly appreciate in that person. 

These are the practices that have got me to where I am today; inspired, uplifted and drunk with gratitude (hehe). During the past year or so, I’ve moved from a person who was struggling and suffering with a painful disease, financial hardship and no hope of a bright future to a person who no longer struggles and suffers and who has hope for a bright future right now. So, as I continue toward day 100, I’ll add more practices, just to see how creative I can be and how drunk I can get (hehe).

Today, I am grateful that I met Robin. Robin has a blog called, Life in the Bogs (click on the link to check it out).

This journey is a miracle to me! Life is a miracle to be revelled in. Be grateful!

Thank you for reading my blog.

5 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Gratitude Challenge Day 40

  1. Thank you so much for the mention. I am grateful to have met you too. 🙂

    I may have to give the 100 day gratitude challenge a try once I get through my current commitment (I’m doing a year-long challenge to get outside and enjoy nature every day). Gratitude seems to go with the outdoor challenge, though, as each day brings gifts of some kind.

  2. I am grateful to read these words this morning. I am grateful to have met BOTH you and Robin. I am grateful for blogging. For both new and old. I am so very proud of you, Marianne, for doing this!

  3. Pingback: 100 Day Gratitude Challenge | Bliss Habits

Leave a Reply

