The Gift of Gratitude: Revelation Occurred – Day 45

Don’t you just love moments of clarity? Moments where some truth makes itself known directly to you. Moments where you clearly experience the truth about something. One such moment of clarity occurred the other night.

It was 2 am. I lay in bed thinking. I went to bed at midnight, but couldn’t fall asleep right away, so I meditated and I pondered. My moment of clarity actually began to reveal itself to me hours earlier during this weeks session of the “Into Your Life” workshop with Grant Rawcliffe. The group did an exercise designed to shed light on situations that make us angry, irritated or annoyed. That is when I got a glimpse of something that fully revealed itself at 2 am.

Fall night.

As I lay in bed that night pondering, it became crystal clear that when I live from my mind, anything can annoy me, but when I live from my heart, nothing can annoy me. Nothing can disturb my peace when I live from my heart. What a revelation!

That doesn’t mean that I can never get angry. It just means that when I do, I’m living from my mind, not my heart. I thought about situations when irritation, annoyance or anger entered. In each case, something had disturbed my mind and caused the annoyance. Knowing this, seems to make things very simple.

Today, I picked a book from my bookshelf, “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle. In the introduction, Eckhart tells his story of awakening and the “undercurrent of peace” that is always with him. When asked how to get peace, he says the noisy mind makes us unable to feel the peace we already have. I now, have an experience of what Tolle is saying. It makes total sense. I love it when that happens.

What are some moments of clarity for you?

4 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Revelation Occurred – Day 45

  1. My moments of clarity tend to happen when I’m out hiking or walking. Last night I felt that way while holding my youngest granddaughter as she was falling asleep. It was a truly heart-felt moment. 🙂

  2. I too charish those rare but precious moments of clarity–those gifts of understanding, when I recognize a truth wihin myself and how it is part of the greater goodness that is love–like yesterday when I realized that on some level I thought I deserved running water in my house here in Haiti but hadn’t had it for two days. Even in the wrongness of that I was thankful to be aware, because without knowing there can be no change. So today we have no electricity, but I trying to remain thankful, thankful that today we DO have water–and that is good–very good indeed!

    I love your blog, love that it reminds me to be greatful, to know that I am blessed.

    • Kathryn, thank you for visiting. I love your comment. Thank you for sharing your experience of Haiti. It too, enriches my life. Thank you for the work that you and your partner are doing.

Leave a Reply

