The Gift of Gratitude: Day 53

I would love to travel the world.

I haven’t travelled since I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. It’s not because of the RA, rather because I don’t have the funds and to be honest, I’m afraid to fly. I know. The fear is irrational. Airplanes are safe.

I am grateful to have blogging friends like Kathy and Robin (click on names to see blogs). Through Kathy and Robin, this week alone, I’ve been to Mission Beach, California and Fort Meyers, Florida.

In Mission Beach, which is part of the city of San Diego (I’ve been to San Diego) they have sunny, 74 degree weather. I’ve seen a stunning sunset on the Pacific Ocean, sand beaches, surfers and boogie boarders, palm trees and a beautiful sunrise on Oceanfront Walk.

In Fort Meyers, Florida, I’ve seen amazing sand sculptures, oyster catchers, Egrets, purple seaweed, coquina clams, pink spoonbills, a live sand dollar, shrimp boats and ripply white sand.

travelling by horse and buggy

It’s great to pretend that I’m a child again and to use my imagination to really feel like I’m right in the experience with these two travellers. I can feel the bright sun warm my skin. I can smell and taste the moist salty air. I can feel the grainy sand between my toes. I can see the sheer volume of the ocean, and the expanse of blue sky. I can hear the gulls squawk, the waves lapping, the laughter and chatter of beach visitors. I get to experience all of this with no worry about flying.

Thank you Kathy and Robin. It’s a joy to share your travelling experiences.

5 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 53

  1. You are very welcome, Marianne. 😀 I’m glad your enjoying my travels with me. It’s always nice to have company.

    I am scared of flying too. Deathly afraid of it. I spend the first half of the flight in a cold sweat of terror and then my body gives up for a while, relaxing out of exhaustion. Then I tense up again for the landing. I keep hoping that each flight will “desensitize” me but it never happens. It actually seems to get worse but I try not to think about that. I may eventually have to ask the doc for some Valium or something. I’ve tried meditation, visualization, deep breaths. Nothing works. I fly anyway.

    • Yes, I am enjoying, it’s the best ever.

      Your flying experience sounds like mine. Boats are also an issue for me, however, I did go on one cruise many years ago. These fears seem to get worse for me also. I’ll have to decide what to do when the time comes. Hopefully.

  2. Oh sweetie! What a delight! I am glad that you have been able to experience different parts of the world. I remember being scared of flying. I remember reaching out with my hand to bless the plane every trip. Now it feels like~~something bigger~~is in control. When it’s my time to go, I shall go. Today or tomorrow or in 50 years…when awareness wants me, it shall have me. (OK, I might fuss a little!)

Leave a Reply

