The Gift of Gratitude: Day 61 – Laughing Hysterically

Funny Man

Do you need to laugh?

I sure did. I didn’t know it though, until I read a blog post written by a new blogging friend, Kathryn, on her blog called “Reinventing the Event Horizon“. It was funny…belly-laughing funny. It felt great to receive a hysterical interlude this evening. Thank you Kathryn, I didn’t know I needed that. (Click on blog name for a laugh.)

My laughter moment inspired me to remember that I need to laugh daily. I’ve had a life-long tendency to take things too seriously. Not sure why. Heredity? Personality? Environment? The answer isn’t easily known.

Apparently, laughter has many health benefits. Laughter can help people heal from various health concerns. I learned this fact a few years ago as I searched for healing from Rheumatoid Arthritis. At the time, I rented a few comedy DVD’s to help lighten things up. While I did get a few laughs, I found it time-consuming and expensive to continue every day. Then, I found out about Laughter Yoga. Did you know that you can phone a number at certain times of the day to participate in a Laughter Yoga session? It may sound a little hoaky, but it works. When you get on the phone with a few other people who are laughing hysterically, it’s contagious and you begin laughing hysterically also.

According to an article published on HelpGuide (click on link to read) laughter is good for the body and it’s good for the mind. Laughter will boost your immune system and protect your heart. Laughter helps you relax and will shift your perspective. I wonder if it will help ward off flu’s and colds this season?

Hmmm. How will I fit in yet another health giving practice to an already busy day? Let’s see. I could go searching for WordPress blogs tagged humour. I could go searching for humour on YouTube. And…I could hook myself up with the Laughter Yoga tele-group again. Can you imagine? What a life? To think we have to actually plan laughter into our day. Children laugh easily and frequently and so do some cultures. Do you laugh easily and frequently?

8 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 61 – Laughing Hysterically

  1. Thanks for mentioning my post! I didn’t even realize there was such a thing as laughter yoga. I know I try to use humor to manage the stress of life in Port-au-Prince. It heps. But please know you have made my day, actually. Thanks so much, Marianne!

Leave a Reply

