The Gift of Gratitude: Day 64

These days, it seems that, everywhere I turn it’s all about gratitude.

During the past week, I’ve received countless emails that all state the same darn thing. Most of them read something like this, “To show you how much we appreciate you, we are slashing 75% off our prices, but you must act now, before it’s too late and this incredible deal goes away forever.”

Isn’t that grand, isn’t that wonderful. Do they really think we are that gullible? First of all, if they can slash 75% off their price and still make a profit, does this mean that they are gouging you throughout the rest of the year? Do they really appreciate YOU or are they only interested in selling you something? I could be in a minority here, but when I get a message like that, it irks me because what I hear them saying is, “We are so full of gratitude for you, now give us your credit card number. Please.” Is it just me, or does gratitude and sale belong in the same sentence?

Turkey

Okay, now that I have that rant off my chest, I’ve attached a link to an email I received from the Institute of HeartMath. The article discusses the physiological benefits of gratitude. As far as I can tell it doesn’t say anything about buying something. That means physical benefits with no cost. I like that. Seriously, the article talks about heart rhythm coherence from positive uplifting feelings. I like that too.

Institute of HeartMath Feeds Food for Thought with Science of Thanksgiving Gratitude.

I think the article clearly states that we can all benefit hugely from sustained feelings of gratitude not just a few days a year, but everyday of the year.

Another email I received this week appropriately states the experience I’ve personally discovered in working with the concept of gratitude through my 100 day gratitude challenge. The email came from “Insight of the Day“. The quote read, “Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.” William Arthur Ward, 1921-1994, Writer.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful Thanksgiving.

10 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 64

  1. Hi, hi! … Hopefully we can be good friends! … I visit the blog, please …
    I am a beginner blogger. I hope you can give tips on how to be a good blogger.

    Nice to meet you …

  2. You are not alone. That kind of marketing irks me, too. Love the HeartMath article. I have strange heart rhythms sometimes, and I can usually link it to underlying emotion. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!!

  3. I had never thought about the sales pitch/gratitude connection–really interesting observations that humor make even more fun to read. Great post!–and Happy Thanksgiving to you, as well–a day late and a dollar short–the dollar having been spent on some “don’-miss-this-opportunity-to-save” sales, I’m sure!

  4. “Gratitude can transform common days into thanksgivings, turn routine jobs into joy, and change ordinary opportunities into blessings.”
    I love that quote. Common days of gratitude! Perfect… Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving, Marianne.

Leave a Reply

