The Gift of Gratitude: Day 73 – Shoot for the Moon

Shoot for the moon.

I often recall the favourite saying of a high achieving businessman I knew long ago. At the news of a conquest, with a glimmer in his eye, a smile and a chuckle he would say, “You can’t hit the moon, if you’re aimin’ at the shit-house.”

While the motto could be called crude, it certainly has a way of sticking with you. Whether my moon friend made it up himself or learnt it from his mentor, the guiding maxim proved successful.

I, on the other hand, couldn’t seem to hit anything much higher than the – – it-house itself. From the tender age of fifteen, I was an employee. A good employee mind you. Employers rewarded me with increases in pay and promotions here and there. From the tender age of fifteen, moon man was an entrepreneur. A successful entrepreneur.

I wanted to be an entrepreneur too. I wanted to turn my – – it-house into moon material. So I signed up for almost every network marketing product launch there was while I harboured secret fantasies of having a mail order business. But, alas, something was amiss. There was no connection. No passion.

Now moon man, he had connection. He had passion! A fire! Moon man knew what he wanted. As a teenager, he dreamed of making millions in business deals.  As a man, he made his dreams a reality. 

In my teenage years, the burning question was, “What is the meaning of life?” As a woman, I sat at my employee desk wondering what my higher purpose was, as if raising a child was not enough.

“Where was my moon? What was I aiming for?” The answer took years of life experiences (some good, some not so good) to appear. (For a snippet, see last blog post.)

Fast forward to December 2010. What am I aiming for? As I get ready for 2011 to begin, I have a burning desire to embody unconditional love, peace, harmony, kindness and gratitude. This will be my 2011 challenge. Embodiment practices. In the words of a wise businessman, “You can’t hit the moon, if you’re aimin’ at the shit-house.”

6 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 73 – Shoot for the Moon

  1. The Moon Man sounds like a wonderful and inspiring person. Your challenge of embodiment sounds inspiring as well. Wishing you everything you seek as you strive toward embodying love, peace, harmony, kindness and gratitude.

    Now that I think about it, it sort of reminds of the year a good friend decided she was going to have love affair with herself. Through learning to love herself, she learned to embody many of those qualities.

    • Yes, Robin, that’s what I want. For too many years I haven’t been very kind to myself. I had a very unhealthy outlook. Low and behold I manifested a debilitating disease. Now, I see how the law of attraction works. Of course, I’m not blaming myself. I was completely unaware. Now that I know, I want to fall in love with my real SELF, not the ego/mind generated stuff. Over the last year and a half, I’ve seen how intention works in my life. It sure is amazing.

      Thank you for helping to inspire me!

  2. You’ve inspired us with the Moon Man, you have. Your post is my first thought about 2011–and that question “How do I want to shoot for the moon?” Hmmm….will think about this more. But I think your desires sound absolutely wonderful. You’ll get there, girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

