The Gift of Gratitude: Day 96 – I Can Choose Peace

I wish I could say my chapped lips came from too much kissing under the mistletoe, but alas, it is not. Rather, it is from licking my lips over the scrumptious Christmas meal my mother prepared yesterday.

We started off with an assortment of cheeses, crackers, fruit, nuts and dark chocolate treats. After the rest of the crew arrived we lined up for roasted turkey with yummy stuffing, roasted ham, potatoes, vegetables, gravy and cranberry sauce. We then took our places on the couches and chairs in my mom’s new cozy living room. Some of us went back for seconds.

Mom moved to a retirement community in October. An active living community with almost 1,200 homes. She has access to a multitude of amenities and recreation programs. She has already become quite the socialite in the short time that she has been there. In addition to socializing, Mom is an athletics enthusiast also. She goes to the gym every other day to work out. I am very happy and grateful that my mom is enjoying her new home immensely.

Thank you mom for a wonderful Christmas meal. Thank you family for a wonderful visit. I’m only kidding about the kissing and mistletoe though (hehehe).

Blurry from too much turkey and sweets

Christmas is over and now it’s time to reflect and plan. The words of John Lennon’s “So This Is Christmas” come to mind;

“So this is Christmas
And what have you done?
Another year over
And a new one just begun”

Another year over and what have I done? Great question.

As I think back to this time last year, the word “miracle” comes to mind. A Course In Miracles defines the word “miracle” as a change in perception. A miracle occurred in my life this year. Huge internal changes. Changes in perception. As a result, I found where my peace is. I now know, I can choose peace.

There are 4 days left to the end of my 100 day gratitude challenge. Is it worth it? I cannot think of anything that would be more worth taking 100 days to focus on gratitude. The benefits are astronomical. I am a different person than the one who started day 1 of the gratitude challenge. I feel it on the inside. For more details on the benefits see the 100 day gratitude challenge page.

What’s in store for 2011? More gratitude practice for one thing. I’m going to learn how to play and create magic and miracles. I’m so excited.

Where will you focus your efforts in 2011?

6 thoughts on “The Gift of Gratitude: Day 96 – I Can Choose Peace

  1. Good question–but I don’t know yet where I will focus my efforts in 2011. However, I think learning to play and create magic are marvelous ways to tackle the coming year. There’s a lot to be said for adults relearning the magic and miracle that is play.
    Happy New Year, Marianne!

  2. Decluttering, for one. But I’d also like to focus more on my yoga and meditation practices.

    I like your idea, too — playing and creating magic and miracles. 🙂

    • This is great, Robin. I was thinking about giving myself another 100 day challenge to start a daily meditation practice also. I have a list of things that I want to accomplish in 2011. Over the last month or so, the list keeps getting bigger and bigger.

      Maybe we can help each other stay on the meditation track. It’ll be fun.

  3. Pingback: New Year Blessings to All The People I Know and Will Meet in 2012! | Grandeurvision

Leave a Reply

