Acceptance

The Daily Post topic for today is; your most important accomplishment in 2010.

In 2010, I became willing to accept my life exactly the way it is. This one decision created a space for peace to enter. I wrote a story about it on my blog post titled, “It’s A Wonderful Gypsy Life“.

Peace and contentment were elusive until I stopped resisting the reality of my situation. The Alcoholics Anonymous Big Book states on page 449, “And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today.” It most definitely is the answer because in it is freedom. I am free from wishing things were different. I am free to accept “the way it is supposed to be at this moment.” Live it and learn it.

Peace and freedom

I haven’t given up, I’ve accepted and I’ve resolved to make 2011 my best year ever.

4 thoughts on “Acceptance

  1. This is a massive accomplishment. I don’t do well with just letting myself be–with accepting who and what I am on a given day. And actually it’s the day to day part I struggle with the most. I may do better with accepting the big picture of who I am than with accepting who I an incrementally. If that makes sense.

    • Kathy, it does make sense.
      Letting go of resistance and allowing unfoldment is tough because most of us try to fix, change, deny, struggle with. It’s all resistance.
      Since I’ve been practicing this concept, I’ve found that by not resisting, stress melts away. It is a continual practice of recognizing resistance and releasing it, for me. Accepting my situation was a massive accomplishment. I felt a huge shift internally.
      I have help with this. I found a group of people locally who practice and teach this stuff. It helps keep me on track.
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Kathy. You are a faithful blogmate. Robin’s blog is where I heard the term blogmate.

  2. I agree with Kathy. This is a tremendous accomplishment. Acceptance isn’t always easy to do.

    I go through periods of acceptance and then backslide from time to time into old patterns of resistance. My meditation and yoga practices help to keep me on track.

    I’m not sure where I first saw the word “blogmate.” It is a good word though, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Thank you Robin!
      It is a process. If we keep at it, it will become a natural part of our being. I hope.
      I’m using “blogmate” frequently.
      My son has been in some musical bands and he has called the other guys “bandmates”.
      I never thought to use the word blogmate.
      Robin, you are a faithful blogmate. I appreciate your reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

