Do Comments Make YOU Smile?

Comments make me smile. I love it when someone leaves a comment on one of my blog posts.

When I started blogging in 2010, I didn’t think that it would matter if anyone read my blogs or not. My only goal, at that time, was to record my thoughts and practice writing. As I visited other blogs and left my comments on them I felt a sense of community develop. It felt nurturing.

I know at least one other person feels this way. Kathryn McCullough discusses this very topic on her blog post titled “Gone Blog-Wild and Comment-Crazy!”

Robin at Life in the Bogs, used the term blogmates on one of her posts. I like this word “blogmates”. It describes community, don’t you think?

But. Did you anticipate a “but’?

However wonderful it is to write blog posts, share stories, visit other blogs, leave comments and reply to comments, it is time-consuming. I didn’t realize just how time-consuming until this week when I signed up for the Post A Day challenge.

I love all the blogs I visit and I love to leave comments, but it doesn’t leave much time for things like; paying work, projects that I need to finish in the next couple of months and tending to the state of my health.

So…I’m re-thinking the idea of blogging. I’m thinking about taking some “work offline” time, at least, for a couple of months while I focus on other things. I dunno….I’m still processing or maybe pondering is a better word. Maybe, I’ll wait a day or so before I decide for sure.

Do comments make YOU smile too?

8 thoughts on “Do Comments Make YOU Smile?

  1. You’re absolutely right about the time commitment! Since I started the postaday2011 challenge, my site hits and comments are both increasing dramatically, and I’m started to feel like I could easily get bogged down. I’m currently unemployed, but hopefully that situation will change soon, in which case I may need to rethink my blogging commitment, too.

  2. Thanks for the mention, Marianne! And thanks so much for sharing Robin’s term–blogmates! I LOVE that!

    I understand that this blogging thing takes time, but selfishly I hope you might give yourself permission to cut back and not stop completely. I would really miss your posts. A wihile back you didn’t post for over a week or so, and I missed it. I started to worry that you weren’t okay–were in too much pain.

    Now obviously you have to do what you need to do for you, but we would miss you. It really is okay just to change your mind about the post a day thing. Try the post a week challenge instead, maybe.

    Whatever you choose to do, I’ll support you, my blogmate!

    • Awe, thanks so much for your kind words, Kathy. I would definitely miss interacting with you also.
      Sometimes I think I unconsciously sabotage myself by taking on too many things at once.
      Maybe you are right. Maybe I should consider the once-a-week challenge. Or maybe drop out of the challenges and post when I have an inspiration.
      Maybe, I’ll decide tomorrow.
      Thank you for your encouragement. I really appreciate it.

  3. Comments always make me smile. 🙂

    It’s hard to balance a commitment to daily blogging with the commitments of daily life. I’ve been struggling with it somewhat lately as there are projects I need to finish, projects I’d like to start, and the usual daily stuff on top of all that. For me the key to daily blogging and commenting has been to allot only so much time to it and that’s it. I would love to be able to comment more and visit more blogs, but unless I can come up with a way to make money blogging, I have to set limits.

    I know you already made your decision. I’m always a day behind, it seems. I do hope you will continue blogging as time permits as I would miss you, blogmate. 🙂

    (Thank you for the shout out, too!)

    • Thank you for the ideas, Robin. I find that I love blogging so much that I can’t seem to limit myself.
      By now you probably have the whole story to my situation.
      I will blog as time permits which will more likely be on a weekly or bi-weekly basis.
      I appreciate your kind words and all your support and encouragement along the way.

  4. This is a real shame, Marianne. I always looked forward to reading your comments, you gave me encouragement and drive to blog everyday. I hope that your absence isn’t for long. I sincerely hope to see you back soon. I’m still going to leave you on my blogroll for now.

Leave a Reply

