Healthy Living Is A Result of Healthy Thinking

One day while I was thinking about my journey to health, this statement came to me: Healthy living is a result of healthy thinking. I’ll explain what I mean.

Years ago, I knew “I should” put more attention into establishing healthy eating habits. Coffee, sweet and salty treats, breads, pasta, poultry, sauces, salads and rice (in their order of importance) made up my daily diet. Thoughts of replacing any or all of these items with vegetables, fruits, beans, whole grains and healthy protein were constant. I wondered why I could never make those “I should” thoughts into reality for more than a day or two here and there.

Fast forward to last year: my breakthrough year. I discovered that the source of my challenges were unhealthy thinking patterns and best of all, I learned how to overcome them. I’m no longer stuck in a rut with my diet. I’m no longer confused about what I want to do with my life. Now, I find joy in being alive and realize that peace really does reside in my heart. Healthy thinking emerged.

A few months ago, I put my intention and prayer on locating a community food growing farm. Healthy thinking translated into a desire for live, fresh, vibrant vegetables. Last week, the answer appeared. I walked into my local health food store to purchase the usual items and noticed a flyer taped to the cash register. Transpire Organic Farm and Wellness, a new community supported agricultural farm is looking for members.

Yummy

Back at home, I called the number, had a lovely conversation with the owner, Candace Wormsbecker and signed up to receive this years harvest of; beans, beets, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, cucumbers, eggplant, garlic, cherries, kale, leek, lettuce, onions, peas, peppers, radish, scallions, swiss chard, squash, tomatoes, tomatillos (what are these and what do you do with them?) and herbs, basil, cilantro and parsley.

I can’t wait to receive my first basket in June. I’m imagining the vibrant taste of fresh picked locally grown organic produce as I write this blog post. Eating food with its life energy intact nourishes the body’s supply of life energy and produces vibrant health. Growing up, I never thought about food as having life energy in it.

Healthy thinking created an achievable desire for healthy living. The reverse is also true: Healthy thinking is a result of healthy living. In his book, The Sunfood Diet Success System, David Wolfe, researcher and educator states;

A physiology of vibrant health produces a mindset, emotional attitude and spiritual power of vibrant health.

Healthy thinking is a result of healthy living. The one feeds on the other and produces a cycle of health giving and health affirming behaviors.

Another neat thing is that Candace encourages members to get involved. I was raised in the city close to supermarkets and butcher shops. The closest I got to gardening was in watering a few plants every now and then. Apparently, my ancestors were farmers and whether it’s in the blood remains to be seen as I plan to visit the farm to learn how to grow food. At any rate, it will be an adventure I look forward to.

You may want to consider looking into community supported agriculture in your area. From what I’ve seen it’s a win-win situation because it provides a supply of high-quality fresh food full of life-giving nutrients to the consumer and provides the farm with a sustainable living to ensure a fresh food supply for future generations. We need an alternative choice to the genetically modified, irridated, waxed, injected produce that is picked raw and transported thousands of miles before it sits and rots on store shelves and grows mold from plastic wrapping.

So how about you, do you believe the statement; healthy living is a result of healthy thinking?

Breaking news…just received an email with a link to a website for CSA in the US;

8 thoughts on “Healthy Living Is A Result of Healthy Thinking

  1. Great article, Marianne! I think you’re right about healthy thinking contributing to healthy living, both from my own experiences and through papers I’ve read in Psychology classes.

    The community supported agriculture farm sounds like a great idea! I think we have something similar in our area called a co-op. I love the veggies, as well as the idea of having fresh veggies. My dog used to dig in my mom’s garden, but now that he’s passed, she plans to start replant…I am very excited!

    • Thank you, Erin. It’s wonderful that your mom has a garden. So sorry that your dog passed. You had a nice blog post for him. I wish I could have a dog. We always had one when I was growing up. I updated the post with a link to a website for CSA in the US. I hope it is a booming trend for the future. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  2. I love CSA’s. We are fortunate enough to have a farm just a mile down the road from us where we get most of our produce during the growing season. It would be great if more and more people started supporting their local farms. 🙂

    I think you are so right about healthy living and healthy thinking, and how they feed on each other.

    Tomatillos! Yum!! Pair those with your cilantro and some jalepeno peppers and you can make a wonderful salsa verde. I’ve used them mostly in Mexican cooking. I like their slight tartness. I’m not sure what else you would use them in/for. I look forward to seeing a series of posts on what you decide to do with them. 😀

    • You are right, Robin, it would be great and it’s wonderful you have one down the road from you. I am looking forward to the growing season. Thanks for reading and commenting. Have a great evening!

  3. Thank you for sharing this, Marianne. How wonderful it is to see people choosing to eat for health–and then falling head-over-heels in love with vegetables and fruits. I remember when I first discovered that vegetables were sweeter and better than, say, cookies and sweet breads. That carrots were heavenly sweet manna! Glad to hear about your CSA. Have a magnificent summer with luscious produce!

Leave a Reply

