My Very Own Peaceful Place

Hangs on my wall

Miracle mama (my new persona, in case you missed, read here) has manifested a new place to live. My very own peaceful place. It’s a small one bedroom apartment on ground level that faces the spacious fir-treed backyards of neighboring houses. The back door opens onto a small patio where I can park my butt on forthcoming patio chair to listen to the sounds of nature in between the sound of cars driving up and down the street behind the houses.

Since the beginning of April it’s been hectic and exhausting, but well worth every minute. My helpers moved seventy-odd boxes and storages containers full of stuff. Much is still left unpacked yet. In fact, a lot of my stuff can be recycled or shredded. I’m ready to let go of much of it, including books, which I never thought I’d hear myself say. I’m heading for the clear space, less is more, simplify life plan.

It’s actually amazing how this move came about so quickly. The regional affordable housing wait-list has over 3,500 people on it with wait-times of 6 years. Several months ago, I put my name on a wait-list for accommodations in the town where I live. At the time, there were 30 people ahead of me on the list, but some were not ready to move yet. I took a chance and prayed that I wouldn’t have to wait years for a place. At the end of March, I got a call telling me an apartment would be available May 1st. Whooo hoooo!

View from the livingroom.

The next amazing thing that happened was an army of angels arrived to move my stuff, disassemble and reassemble furniture, hang window coverings and help me clean. I could not have done without their help, I was so exhausted from packing and organizing as it seems the rheumatoid disease picked a fine time to act up on me. Once again, I was blessed and boy, do I feel grateful!

So, its been 10 days since I’ve been in my new peaceful place. My mother and brother came to visit a few days ago. My brother has a way with words. “You sure can’t get lost in here,” was his comment as he walked into the apartment. He lives in a townhouse with at least 6 or 7 flights of stairs, so I understand. He knows it’s a right size for me. He and mom helped to move around furniture to see what fit best where. Brother organized the thirty something cartons in the storage closet so that I could have easy access to them. With their help, the place looks very comfortable now.

A friend delivered flowers from her garden.

I have so many blessings from All the angels in my life. I can only hope and pray that I too will be a blessing to others in some small way. Thank you to All who contributed to my very own peaceful place.

13 thoughts on “My Very Own Peaceful Place

  1. Beautiful! I’m happy for you. I once got to a state of mind where I could release some of my books, and I understand how hard that can be. Be very careful…there are a few I wish I still had. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you Nancy. Yes…that’s the thing about releasing books…I think I’ll downsize in increments or stages now that you’ve mentioned it. Thanks for reading and commenting. What are you up to these days?

  2. I’m so glad you’re settling in after a challenging move! Congrats on finding a great place to live. My post today is also about moving–in a way! It’s wonderful to hear from you, Marianne!
    Kathy

  3. Congratulations Marianne! What a busy time for you to move, but you did it. You are a blessing to me. Your strength, your resilience and your writing inspire me. Call me if you want.
    Melinda

  4. This is wonderful, Marianne! I am so glad your prayers and wishes were answered, and in such a fantastic way.

    May your new home bring you lots of peace and joy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Marianne, I’m sorry, I have been checking out over at your Miracle Mama blog and forgot to visit this one! So I missed hearing about your move. It sounds like a perfect place to live. Does it still feel hectic, settling into a new place? Or have you settled down.

    • Hi Kathy, I settled in to the minimum needed for daily living because I’ve been dealing with severe RA symptoms and haven’t had much energy, however, I’ve just been to my doctors and pharmacist so I’m hoping symptoms will settle down over the next few weeks and I can get back to posting on my blogs among other things. Thanks for visiting and commenting, Kathy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: My New Friend | Grandeurvision

Leave a Reply

