A day in a life with rheumatoid Arthritis – Part 3

It took many years to come to the realization that my mother is The most incredible person I know. Recently, I’m reminded again of this truth.

On Friday, August 5th, I became quite ill with what I thought was a virus. It lasted through the weekend until Tuesday when I decided to go to the emergency department of the hospital. Thankfully, a savvy ER doctor diagnosed the real problem; perricarditis – inflammation of the pericardial sac surrounding the heart. A quick admission ensued and the cardiologist drained 500 cc/ml of the fluid that was collecting for a while.

The condition is a not-all-that-common complication of RA disease. I knew, from a previous diagnosis last year that I had fluid around my lungs. The heart fluid was a shock to me.

My petite, 75-year-old mom jumped into her car and drove the 2-1/4 hours to meet me in ICU at the hospital. There at my bedside, Mom kept me company while I recuperated from the ordeal for several days.

On Monday, August 15th, I arrived home to a clean, shiny apartment and noticed a few new supplies that weren’t there before. Thanks Mom. I don’t know where I’d be without your caring heart and example of unconditional love in action.

Of course, Mom reminded me that she would do the same for each of her four children. (Just when I thought I was the special one.) ~Smile~

Life

Now I have to tell you that the reason I make the statement that she is the most incredible person I know is because Mom has not had an easy life, from my perspective (Mom would never say this). The challenges she has faced could very easily leave a person embittered, resentful and angry. Instead, Mom never ceases to amaze me with her soft-spoken thoughtful demeanor, open mind and the loving-kindness she carries in her heart. I feel honored to be one of Mom’s daughters and I feel blessed to have her for my teacher.

Thank you Mom. Please know that I am forever grateful and love you always and forever.

13 thoughts on “A day in a life with rheumatoid Arthritis – Part 3

  1. Sorry to hear about your terrible ordeal : ( But glad that you have a wonderful mommy who still loves to take care of you! If you ever need anything, remember that I live only 5 mins away!!
    (BTW…YOU have that delightful soft-spoken demeanor like your mama)

  2. Marianne, I have often thought of you and wondered how you were doing. You have been through so much, too much. What a blessing your mother was there to take care of you. Thank you for sharing.
    If you are up to chatting I am home tonight, or you can try Wednesday night or Thursday during the day.

    Melinda

    • Hi Robin. Unfortunately I had a repeat episode and ended up in hospital again Sunday to Tuesday. Just got home a few hours ago. The doc took me off the drug prednisone too soon and I had a rebound. So now I’m weaning off the drug slowly. Unfortunately my rheumatologist is away until Aug. 31st and couldn’t be involved in the decisions about meds. Hopefully, the disease will be controlled until she gets back and can address long term care. My wonderful mom is staying with me for a few days to see that I’m really feeling better. I am so very grateful to have her. Thanks for reading and commenting Robin.

  3. Pingback: A day in a life with rheumatoid Arthritis – Part 4 | Grandeurvision

    • I’m so sorry to hear that you have lung issues with your RA as well, Patricia. I thought that the fact RA affects the joints was bad enough, but I could live with it. Now, it’s a new story. Uncontrolled RA is life-threatening. Thanks again for reading and commenting.

  4. Pingback: In the End, Only Love Matters | Grandeurvision

  5. Pingback: How Chronic Disease Can Lead to Personal Transformation | Personal Transformation Enthusiast

Leave a Reply

