Gearing Up

So, I’m gearing up to ease into Dr. McDougall’s diet plan as I mentioned in a previous post. Last night, I printed 12 days of the McDougall meal plan. Today, I had a gander through the list of menu items. Mulling over my strategy, I determined that I would begin the program by focusing on one meal per day for the first week. So that means that I will follow the McDougall meal plan for breakfast this week. I’ll make a list of the groceries I need and pick them up over the weekend.  (To see what I’m referring to just click on the underlined links and it will take you to Dr. McDougall’s website.)

I completed the mindfulness program homework however, I felt like I rushed to get it done because it was a busy day so I’ll have to plan better next time.

I’m thinking I should post some markers so that I’ll be able to identify how a change in diet may help alleviate RA symptoms. With the RA meds I currently take, I still experience inflamed swollen joints to a greater or lesser degree. For instance, the other night I went to the tenants association dinner and when I stood up to leave, my left ankle was so painful and swollen that I limped home. Was it something I ate? I wish I knew. Hopefully, the change in diet will answer this question.

Inflammation and pain level seems to change daily and sometimes hourly. Gastrointestinal pain and discomfort is due to the meds even though I take the prescribed acid-blocker. It’s just downright frustrating.

Next week, I have an appointment with the Interventional Cardiologist. Did you know that there is a type of doctor called a Non-Invasive Cardiologist? I wonder what his treatment would have been for the pericarditis or would he have referred me to the Interventional Cardiologist. I’ll have to ask when I see him. I like the sound of the Non-Invasive Cardiologist.

Thanks for reading and blessings to all. May your day be filled with loveliness.

11 thoughts on “Gearing Up

  1. That’s a great idea…to introduce one meal a day. I need to look at that. I could probably do that for breakfast, since we generally don’t eat breakfast as a family. Are you choosing the same meal each day or are you mixing it up?

    Posting markers to evaluate improvement is a good idea, too. I should do that in my RA blog. Praying that both of us experience hope and healing as we look for more natural ways to battle this disease.

    • I thought I’d use the 12 day menu plan breakfast ideas as a guideline. I’ll try to follow it as it’s laid out for each day however I know there will be days when I’ll have to mix it up a bit and choose a breakfast idea from a different day.

      I’ll pray too, Pat. There must be an answer to this disease. I think that the fact that you controlled Crohn’s through diet is a very promising experience. RA is autoimmune as well. Nobody deserves to live like this. I’m not resting until I find my answer.

  2. I like the sound of a non-invasive doctor, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wonderful idea to go at this one meal at a time. It’s tough to change everything at once. I hope the diet works out well for you, and brings you the relief and healing you seek.

    • Thanks Robin. Change is such an interesting journey for me. I find that sometimes I have to go at something numerous times and in numerous ways before it sticks. Thanks so much for your comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I am the same way, Marianne. It astounds me how many times I have to tackle a project (usually of the self-improvement variety) and how many ways I have to go at it before an unknown something clicks into place and suddenly, it all works. I suppose all that trial and error are pieces of the puzzle, and the clicking is that last piece sliding in and resting comfortably in the new state of normal. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Robin, I like that…..”the new state of normal.” It seems that my life is continually shifting into a new state of normal if that makes any sense. Sometimes I wonder when I’ll be done, then I remember that life is about evolution and hope I’m never done.

  3. Pingback: A day in a life with rheumatoid arthritis – Part 6 | Grandeurvision

Leave a Reply

