Prepare to be Prepared

2 wicker baskets full of muffins sit on a blue...

Image via Wikipedia

Recently, I learned something new about myself. Well, maybe I already knew it deep down inside. Events of the weekend before last reminded me. If I want success with the diet change I propose, I need to prepare to be prepared.

Some weeks ago, I made a decision to try Dr. McDougall’s diet for 4 months to see what effects, if any, on the RA symptoms I experience (click here to read).

Bright (it was actually dark) and early(5:15 a.m.) on Saturday October 22nd , I headed for Toronto to attend a conference. Usually, it’s a 90 minute drive, so I turned the car toward the McDonald’s drive thru where I ordered a large tea with milk to sip along the way. The server asked if I’d like to add a muffin to my order. Hmmm, “Why not”, I thought, “a muffin goes well with tea.” After listening to the muffin choices, I settled on the fruit and fibre. It seemed like the healthiest choice. Sounds like justification, don’t ya think?

I knew I’d be away all day as a volunteer for Brenda MacIntyre who had a booth at the conference, so I packed a lunch with snacks as well as toast and nut butter for my breakfast on the road. I put the muffin in my bag and took out the wheat-free toast with nut butter to munch on while I sipped my tea during the drive (is this legal?).

So far, so good, except, according to the McDougall diet plan, I’m not supposed to have tea or coffee either. Oops. It may take a while.

I arrived at the venue in Toronto somewhere around 7 a.m. and ate the fruit and fibre muffin sometime that morning. Next to the homemade meal of rice, mung beans, beets, garlic, onions and celery, an assortment of raisins, figs and dates, and 2 protein bars (which I knew would give me gas), it seemed like the most interesting item in my lunch bag.

What would your choice be?

During the lunch break, I ate the  rice and mung beans and had the raisins, figs and dates for dessert.

That’s good. I’m back on track.

Saturday was the first day of the two-day conference.

The presenter on Saturday afternoon was a man by the name of Ti Caine, Hypnotherapist, Healer, Speaker, Life Coach and creator of Future Visioning. Ti gave everyone in the audience a useful 20 page hand-out that describes the Future Visioning process in which he states,

“First I help you design your Ideal Future, and then I will guide you out into that Ideal Future so you can actually meet your Awesome Future Self, and experience yourself living the life of total success, health and happiness that you really deserve!

Then I will guide you back into the past so that you can heal and release the old emotional blockages and limiting beliefs that have created all of your struggles, illnesses and self sabotage. You can then more powerfully and gracefully move forward to create your true unlimited success.”

Ti’s presentation drove home for me the importance of consciously designing my own future. In some areas, not all, I’ve lived my life unsure of what I want.

If this interests you at all, Ti has free material available on his website.

By the time Ti’s presentation ended it was late afternoon. Feeling a little tired from the 4 a.m. rise, I needed a pick me up. There was a coffee shop a few blocks away. I ordered a Chai Tea Latte. The man behind the counter asked if I’d like to add an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie to my order (or maybe I thought I heard him say that). Either way, I left with Latte and cookie.

As I reflect on the lessons from the day with regard to the transition to a new diet, it seems to me that I need to prepare to be prepared.

Maybe I could have planned to have wheat-free vegan cookies and baked goods since I enjoy them so much with tea and hot drinks. Would you agree? Any additional ideas?

Since I have a future vision of life without RA, I really have to get a handle on a way to have the best of both worlds – adherence to the McDougall diet and my love of cookies and baked goods.

On the second day of the conference, author and speaker, Gregg Braden gave a talk and led a meditation. Unfortunately, I missed it and I missed helping Brenda at her booth as well. When I got up on Sunday morning I could barely stand on my feet let alone walk. Extreme pain and inflammation prevented me from attending.  Sunday was no fun at all.

Oh well, we live, we learn.

Have a happy day and thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “Prepare to be Prepared

  1. I think preparation may be one of the hardest parts of being on any diet, when we live in a culture so dependent on fast food, and “fast” usually means unhealthy. Preparation on the other hand is about being slow and thoughtful and deliberate–not that I’m necessarily good at any of those things. Good luck, my friend!
    Kathy

    • You’re so right, Kathy. I’m slowly learning. I won’t give up though. I absolutely have to test the diet idea. Thanks for your comment. Hope you’re having a great day!

  2. It sure makes us conscious of how UNconsciously we live our lives, doesn’t it? Much of our diet is habitually grabbing something. To change it, we have to slow down and think about it. And then there’s the comfort food factor. I love, love, love baked goods, but sugar is no good in my body. I’m about to begin a sugar sweep again; I feel so much better when I don’t eat it.

    The Future Visioning sounds awesome. Thanks for mentioning it.

    • That’s for sure, Nancy. Habits are hard to break especially when it’s something you love. Maybe I’ll have to start baking my own treats and carry them with me where ever I go.

      Glad you like the Future Visioning idea. So do I. It will be a process to create visions for each area of my life.

      Thanks for your comment Nancy.

  3. I have a difficult time being prepared when it comes to diet, too. On our last trip I took about a gallon of veggie chili and some brown rice with me so I’d have something to eat that didn’t involve wheat and cheese. But after a few meals of chili with rice, I got pretty tired of it. Next time I’ll package up and freeze a couple of different things to take with me.

    How do you cook your mung beans and rice? Do you make a kitchari?

    • lol! You make me laugh, Robin. I’d get tired after a few meals also.

      For now, I’m into convenience so I used canned mung beans and quick cooking brown rice. In future, I’d like to learn how to sprout beans and all that stuff. Kitchari is a new word for me. You’ve taught me something new. I found a recipe when I did a google search and learned that it’s a great dish for detoxification. I didn’t know that. Thank you. I think I’ll plan to make some on the weekend.

      Thanks for your comment, Robin. It’s great to learn new stuff. 🙂

      • A small tip on the kitchari (based on experience): Go through the list of ingredients and be sure you like everything. Most kitchari recipes end up making a tub-full of the stuff. The first time I made it, I ended up with a lifetime supply of something I didn’t like much. I ate it for a couple of meals (didn’t want to waste it) and then gave up. Since then I’ve learned to use ingredients I like and leave out those I don’t. I have also played around with the recipes so I can make a breakfast version (using cinnamon, garam masala, and fruit) as well as lunch and/or dinner versions (more savory and spicy with vegetables). I like savory and spicy for breakfast too, so I’ve been known to mix things up. 🙂

  4. I love that you are consciously walking this path, Marianne. Lately I have been planning every morning. Writing what I will and won’t do, along with any justifications or resistance to it. Have tried to do this many times before–and felt like a failure if I go “off the wagon”–but lately have been able to follow through. The plan includes being really flexible when life offers another option. I am choosing not to add muffins or cookies right now, but trying to budget in a cup of coffee or so every once in a while. It includes adjustments when things go off course. Wishing you the best in your choices!

    • Sometimes I find that we can be so hard on ourselves. I think the key is to just keep trying when we want to make changes in our life. If we don’t give up eventually the changes we want to happen have to stick. As I write this I’m reminded to acknowledge and celebrate how far we’ve come over the last year.

      Congratulations that you’ve been able to follow through lately. It must feel good. Thank you for the wishes and all the best to you as well on the journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

