A Moment of Clarity

A piece of the Light


At 6:00 a.m. my stomach burned with the acid created from ingesting the prescribed pharmaceutical drugs to treat the rheumatoid arthritis diagnosis. Feeling tired and wanting to sleep, I wasn’t impressed with this moment of stomach pain.

I had a choice. I could either get up and take a pharmaceutical acid-blocker or I could practice present moment awareness (mindfulness). Since I’m involved in the “Managing Pain Mindfully” program, I chose the present moment.

I relaxed my body and brought my awareness to my abdomen to feel the pain.

What does it feel like? Burning and uncomfortable.

I’m reminded of something that I learned from reading Lester Levenson’s writings. Lester suggests to ask yourself, “Who am I?”.

An image came to my mind.

A huge golden light with light-rays shining forth much like the sun. I am a ray of that Light. Okay, maybe not the whole ray, a piece of ray. I am connected to the Greater Whole Light along with 7 billion humans, the earth and rocks, vegetation, animals, stars, planets, everything we see and everything we don’t see. This Light is Life Itself. I am a piece of this huge golden light; the creative intelligent life-giving energy of Love Itself.

As I contemplated the image, I felt immediate relief from stomach pain and burning. Shortly thereafter, I fell back asleep.

I may get a different answer the next time I ask myself, “Who am I?”. But for now, the image of Light and Love makes me feel warm and fuzzy.

By the way, this post is my 100th for this blog. It’s an accomplishment for me. Yay, Marianne.

And thanks for reading. Hope everyone has a fantastic day!

10 thoughts on “A Moment of Clarity

  1. Love your light ray image!

    Congrats on your 100th post. I need to get in gear with mine. I have ideas for posts, but an in transition and can’t settle down to write.

    • Yes, it felt wonderful to have the image come to my mind. Today was an especially happy day. Thanks for reading and commenting. Hope all is well with you. πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful picture! I am so happy that you were able to connect to that healing energy and to feel relief. So proud of what you were able to do, Marianne. Blessings…

Leave a Reply

