I Found the Meaning for my Life

“The road is long

With many a winding turn

That leads us to who knows where

Who knows where

But I’m strong

Strong enough to carry him

He ain’t heavy, he’s my brother

So on we go.”

Lyrics by Bobby Scott and Bob Russell.

It seemed like an ordinary day.

As I returned home from the grocery store, I met Eileen. Some of you know Eileen from My New Friend. Eileen’s 92 now. She had another birthday.

Eileen was on her way toward the parking lot. I was on my way toward the apartment complex where we live. We met just outside the door to the building. Eileen noticed the grocery bags dangling from my hands.

“Here, I’ll open the door for you.” Eileen reached back into her pocket to retrieve her keys.

“Thank you, Eileen. How are you doing?”

“I couldn’t be better. Here, I’ll get the other door for you as well,” she offered while she scurried toward the inside door that led to the hall where my apartment unit was.

I followed, protesting, “Oh, no, you don’t have to do that, Eileen. You’re on your way out.”

As she stood holding the door open, looking up at me, she beamed, “We’re here to help others. I know that more than ever now.”

My heart melted.

“May I give you a hug, Eileen?”

Eileen smiled. The light shone through her eyes. I dropped the grocery bags to the floor.Β  We hugged.

Love Itself spoke to me that day.

14 thoughts on “I Found the Meaning for my Life

  1. Marianne, what a beautiful story, so simple, yet so full of meaning, just like all of the best things in life. I hope you are keeping well. πŸ™‚

    • You ARE love too, Kathy. We all are. I’m working on ramping-up the vibes. Starting a 100 day “Learn about Love” challenge this week. Thanks for supporting the blog, Kathy. Lots of love to you, Marianne. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

