Learning about Love: Day 10

Sunbeams on the water.

What would you do today if you knew you were going to die tomorrow?

A while ago a Facebook friend shared an article by Bronnie Ware, titled Regrets of The Dying.

Bronnie worked with patients in palliative care where she helped care for them during the remaining weeks of their lives.

“People grow a lot when they are faced with their own mortality.” ˜ Bronnie Ware

I know what Bronnie means by that quote. Long time readers know that last summer, I experienced a serious health emergency. The situation definitely played catalyst in a perspective shift. I wrote about it in a post titled, “In the End, Only Love Matters.”

Back to the article — Bronnie lists the top 5 regrets that were common themes with the majority of her patients.

The first is that they wished they had the courage to be true to who they were instead of what others thought they should be or do.

 “This above all:  To thine own self be true.” — William Shakespeare

Number two is that they wouldn’t have worked so hard and spent so much time away from loved ones.

Third, they wished they had the courage to express their true feelings.

Fourth, they wished they had stayed in touch with friends.

And finally, they wished they had allowed themselves to be happier throughout their life. At the end of life, they realized that happiness is a choice.

Why does it seem to take a catastrophic event to effect a change?

If I knew I would die tomorrow, I would drive to my sister, I would hug her and tell her that I love her.

14 thoughts on “Learning about Love: Day 10

  1. If I were going to die tomorrow, I would chose to live fully without regrets or listening to the inner critic. I am now going to truly live life the fullest while cleaning house, exhausted after last night’s skunk fun.

    • Oh my gosh! I hope the skunk wasn’t in the house.

      Regrets and the inner critic sure are energy drainers, I know. This is what I love about blogging; you find many others who share the same challenges and it makes you feel understood and accepted.

      Thanks so much for your comment, Kathy, I really appreciate it. 🙂

  2. Wow, if I were going to die tomorrow, I’d want to hug my sister, as well–and tell her how much I love her.

    (Sorry to have been away all week. Tomorrow’s post should explain my absence from the blogosphere. I’ve missed reading you.)

    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. Pingback: true love ..? | 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline

  4. It would be convenient to know when we would pass , not knowing this , do you think sometimes life’s are so demanding now that even if we lived to our potential we would still hold regrets ..? just wondering your thoughts ..Thanks Tim

    • Hi Tim, thank so much for visiting and commenting. It’s likely that everyone who passes has regrets of some kind. To be human is to have regrets, I think. Conversely, there are probably some humans that have no regrets. Thanks again for your comment. Wishing you a wonderful day! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Learning about Love: Day 11 | The Meaning for my Life

    • Daniela, thank you for your kind words. I know what you mean, Daniela. I too, would want to be with my son (after I hug my sister). Thanks very much for your comment. Wishing you a wonderful day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

