Learning about Love: Day 11

Life expressions.

Welcome to another lovely day! My friend mentioned that she did not receive an email notification for yesterday’s post. So — if you missed Day 10 click here to read.

I think I mentioned that I’m reading the book, “Practicing the Sacred Art of Listening – A Guide to Enrich Your Relationships and Kindle Your Spiritual Life”. Kay Lindahl, the author writes;

“Learning to truly listen to one another is the beginning of new understanding and compassion, which deepens and broadens our sense of community.”

Lindahl goes on to say that by truly listening to another we are loving them and that the other feels loved by the presence we bring to their dialogue.

This truth was further validated last evening when I listened to an Eckhart Tolle talk with a friend.

Tolle was speaking on bringing present moment awareness into everyday activities like working, preparing food, driving, shopping etc. etc.

He basically said that when you give your undivided attention to someone, they feel special; loved.

What do you think? Do you feel loved or special when someone deeply listens to you? Can you tell when someone isn’t listening to you? How does it make you feel?

Practice for the week:  Bring present moment awareness into daily activities by; focus awareness to the breath, feel the aliveness of the inner body, become aware of sense perceptions.  Repeat often during the day. Post sticky notes as reminders. Good Luck Friends.

I’ll let you know how I do with this.

Once again, thank you so much for accompanying me on this journey. I really appreciate the support and wonderful comments. 🙂 Wishing everyone a really awesome day.

If you are new to this blog and wonder what this is all about, I’ve given myself a 100 day “Learning about Love” challenge. So — for the next 100 days, it’s all about love. My good friend calls it a “love makeover” (hehehe).

I created a Facebook page for The Meaning for my Life to build a community where like-minded individuals can share the meaning for their life as well as items of inspiration to help keep us focused on Love, Life and Presence. Just give us a ‘Like’ and your in (hehe). The Like button is in the right sidebar under ‘My Story’ pages.

9 thoughts on “Learning about Love: Day 11

  1. I have always believed in the importance of listening – really honest to goodness listening – glad you are spreading the word
    -and yes, when someone really listens to me I feel special and loved
    thanks for this post

    • Hi LouAnn, I would imagine that being a newspaper reporter would give you lots of practice at listening. I’m slowly getting better at listening, but I have lots of practice to do yet. Thanks for reading and commenting, LouAnn. Wishing you a great day! 🙂

  2. I was going to just push the “like” button but wanted to give you some more undivided attention. Present moment awareness is such a gift, such a delight, but it’s so easy to lose ourselves in our thoughts. Reading a Jesuit priest last night, Anthony de Mello, and he advised simply watching where we fall from present moment awareness, what traps us, and truly seeing if what we’re believing is true or not. He said we can’t get where we already are, but we can see when we’re playing make-believe again. (not his words, I’ve paraphrased.)

  3. Present moment awareness. Oh how I long to master this. As far as listening … I try to do for others what I like done for me. If someone is speaking, I listen, because I like the same courtesy. If I had to pick someone I’d like to listen to me, I mean, truly listen … it’s doctors. Thanks for another thoughtful post.

    • I agree, Lori, doctors don’t listen very well. My doctor continually asks me if I want the flu shot after I’ve repeatedly explained to her my past experiences with it. She says, “I have to ask otherwise I’ll get kicked out of the club.” lol! At least, she has a sense of humour.

      As for present moment awareness, we’ll just have to keep practicing, Lori.

      Wishing you a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  4. Today I experienced such a good…such a different day. I practised presence through breathing to bring myself to stillness. This is new to me…the constant mind chatter has been my norm. I am surprised how helpful this process is….I was able to “allow” my day and also to be a more focussed, willing, present listener. Multi moment throughout the day where one breathes into awareness can, over time, be transformational states Tolle. Thanks Marianne for your guidance and suggestions.

  5. Synchronicity. 😀 I did a listening meditation practice on my walk this morning. Yoga Journal had a short article about listening fully and completely while walking, to all of the sounds, so that the focus calms the mind and you begin to absorb the sounds (not sure “absorb” is correct, but it’s the best word that comes to mind at the moment). It was an amazing walk, and I found myself listening better when dealing with people today.

    I’m really enjoying your daily posts, Marianne. Thank you. 🙂 (I know I’m a few days behind, but I like to take my time with the good stuff, and this is the good stuff.)

Leave a Reply

