Learning about Love: Day 48 – Teachings from the Dalai Lama

His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama brings togeth...

His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama brings together Buddhists and Western scientists every two years. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Recently, I felt drawn to study teachings from His Holiness the  Dalai Lama. While I am still in the early stages of study, I felt called to share what I’ve learned thus far.

According to the Dalai Lama, the purpose of life is to be happy and the way to achieve happiness is through mental peace. His Holiness states,

“From my own limited experience, I have found that the greatest degree of inner tranquility comes from the development of love and compassion.”

So − how do we develop love and compassion and what are the benefits?

“The more we care for the happiness of others, the greater our own sense of well-being becomes. Cultivating a close, warm-hearted feeling for others automatically puts the mind at ease. This helps remove whatever fears or insecurities we may have and gives us the strength to cope with any obstacles we encounter. It is the ultimate source of success in life.”

Why does love and compassion bring happiness?

“Ultimately, the reason why love and compassion bring the greatest happiness is simply that our nature cherishes them above all else. The need for love lies at the very foundation of human existence. It results from the profound interdependence we all share with one another. However capable and skillful an individual may be, left alone, he or she will not survive. However vigorous and independent one may feel during the most prosperous periods of life, when one is sick or very young or very old, one must depend on the support of others.”

The Dalai Lama further explains that interdependence is a fundamental law of nature.  He mentions that the smallest insects are social beings who survive through mutual cooperation innately knowing they are interconnected.

In fact; oceans, forests, clouds, and flowers, arise because of the interaction of subtle energy patterns.

“It is because our own human existence is so dependent on the help of others that our need for love lies at the very foundation of our existence.”

The Tibetan teacher points out;

“If the child is not held, hugged, cuddled, or loved, its development will be impaired and its brain will not mature properly.”

He observes and surmises;

“Nowadays, many children grow up in unhappy homes. If they do not receive proper affection, in later life they will rarely love their parents and, not infrequently, will find it hard to love others.”

And, the conclusion is;

“the affection and respect of others are vital for our happiness.”

But it doesn’t end here. Part two will follow next post.

Source:  His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama of Tibet website.

13 thoughts on “Learning about Love: Day 48 – Teachings from the Dalai Lama

  1. Pingback: I must be cautious of my thoughts, actions and how I interact with the world « One Lifetime

  2. Pingback: RESULT OF HAPPINESS | ALTHEYRIGHT'S COLLECTION OF SIMPLE THOUGHTS

  3. Pingback: Learning about Love: Day 50 | The Meaning for my Life

  4. So much wisdom in one man. Amazing. 🙂

    I’ve been meaning to ask if you’ve ever tried metta practice, Marianne. I’ve thought of it often throughout your posts regarding learning about love. It’s also known as loving-kindness, and often starts by learning to wish yourself well (“May I be free from harm. May I be happy. May I be healthy. May I dwell in peace.” — or something along those lines).

    • Yes, Robin. Thanks for asking. I found a site that has loving-kindness meditations, so I’ve been using those every now and then along with visualization meditations and inner-body awareness meditations. And, I’m learning to be present with uncomfortable feelings as well. Do you have a separate sitting session apart from your daily yoga practice?

      • I’ve been doing a Yoga Journal 28-day meditation challenge (http://www.yogajournal.com/meditationrevolution) that starts with yoga to open up the hips for sitting, and then I sit with the guided meditation. So the answer is yes, I do have a separate sitting session for now. Usually my morning walks are a form of meditation as well, sometimes more so than when I sit. Looking into a droplet of dew as the sunlight hits it can be pure bliss. 🙂

        • Thanks for the link, Robin. I watched the video and signed up. It’s really great that your morning walks are meditation. I think it would be fantastic to spend the day in meditative doing, at least, that’s what my mind says, though I’m a long way from that. It’s wonderful that we can share our journey’s. Thanks Robin. 🙂

        • Btw Robin, I also wanted to mention that I went to a complimentary beginner yoga session the other night. While I needed help to get down and up from the floor and I had to take a break mid-class, I really felt a benefit from the amount I managed to do. My spine felt looser and my posture improved (for the balance of the evening anyway). I told the instructor that the beginner level may be too advanced at this point with the RA, so he recommended a restorative class which I’ll try out next week. He said it’s a gentler yoga. Might be just what I need. It sure felt good to move and stretch. I’ve been ceased up with this RA disease for far too long. Take care, Robin. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Learning about Love: Day 75 – Teachings from the Dalai Lama | The Meaning for my Life

Leave a Reply

