Learning about Health – 100-Day Challenge

Microsoft Office Images

Microsoft Office Images

Many, many months ago, I purchased a book, “Clean: Remove, Restore, Rejuvenate,” by Alejandro Junger, M.D. The New York Times bestseller is “The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body’s Natural Ability to Heal Itself.”

While I read the book when I purchased it, it sat on my shelf until a few days ago when I decided to give myself another challenge.

The best way for me to stay focused on something is through a 100-day challenge.

I decided to go through the book chapter-by-chapter highlighting important points and implementing the ideas as I go.

Chapter one talks about the awesome healing ability the body has. It’s the body’s organs and physiological process working together that keeps it clean.

The chapter explains that by implementing a focused period of detoxification, the body will reset itself because you have switched on its innate healing ability.

Some of the benefits of detoxifying are; steady energy, avoid colds and flu, heal allergies, age gracefully and avoid disease.

In actual fact, the body’s detoxification system is always working every day. The trouble is, toxins from the environment and from the food we eat accumulate in the body faster than the body system can keep up.

Our ancestors, the hunter-gatherers feasted and fasted. They went through periods when they bulked up followed by periods of imposed famine.

Signs of toxic overload include; headaches, bowel irregularities, allergies, weight problems, depression, anxiety, and pain.

According to Dr. Junger, one of the most common consequences of poor detoxification functioning is inflammation.

I know all about inflammation as rheumatoid arthritis is an inflammatory auto-immune condition.

Dr. Junger states that “as toxicity accumulates, your body systems are damaged one by one, starting with your intestines.”

Apparently, intestinal irritation causes a host of symptoms like; seasonal allergies, skin rashes, depression, and even a lack of enthusiasm for life.

A person can do one, two or three weeks of the “Clean” diet.

Sounds interesting don’t you think.

I definitely know that my diet isn’t clean. For one thing, I have way too much sugar. Sugar cravings are a challenge for me. Every day, I eat food items such as; dark chocolate, honey, gluten and egg-free cookies, energy bars and hot chocolate drink mixes.

Next post will cover chapter two.

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate it.

 

9 thoughts on “Learning about Health – 100-Day Challenge

  1. This sounds like a great book, Marianne. I’m not sure I could follow all of the recommendations on detoxing myself, but I do, by necessity, eat pretty cleanly, so hopefully that’s a help. Looking forward to seeing what you learn as you go!

  2. Pingback: Learning about Health – Day 2 | The Meaning for my Life

  3. I am hoping that your body will heal, heal, heal as you read and apply what you’ve learned. May inflammation cease. Will read your findings with great interest. (And glad to hear you’ve been doing somewhat better.)

  4. I always learn a lot from your 100-day challenges, Marianne, and admire your willingness to take them on. This sounds very interesting. I look forward to following along.

    I’ve done a 3-day detox and a 7-day detox. I am always amazed at how much better I feel when I finish. It can be tough going, though, during the first day or two. I’ve been thinking about doing a 3-day juice fast soon, but have to work out the timing.

    I hope the 100 days bring you healing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you very much, Robin! The last time I tried a detox diet I ended up in the hospital with severe stomach discomfort. It was likely due to the meal replacements and nutritional products I was using at the time. My stomach condition just didn’t agree with them. And so, I had to abandon the detox after a week. That was last June. Finally, my stomach is doing better these days. Hopefully, one of these days, I’ll make some headway. Thank you very much for reading and commenting, Robin. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Learning about Health – Day 13 | The Meaning for my Life

Leave a Reply

