A day in a life with rheumatoid arthritis – Part 7- Fat Sick and Nearly Dead – the movie

First off, let me give a big THANKS to all my subscribers and to those who read my blog. I feel very blessed that you liked it enough to click the “follow” feature or “subscribe” in the earlier days.

Blogging helps me to track my experiences as I contemplate and search for a meaningful life. I feel honored when I inspire others with the information I share as it crosses my path. And, the fact that blogging on WordPress makes it so easy, is a bonus.

A few weeks ago, my brother told me about a documentary he watched titled, “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead“. Joe Cross was 100 lbs. overweight and suffered from a rare autoimmune disease. Under medical supervision, Joe went on a 60-day juice fast while he traveled across the United States filming the documentary. Joe spoke to 500 Americans about food and healthy lifestyle. Some took the challenge along with him. One woman found relief from persistent migraines.

According to my brother, the most fascinating part of the video was when Joe Cross found Phil Staples at a truck stop. Phil weighed in at 429 lbs., suffered from the same rare condition and couldn’t stand his situation any longer. According to the descriptive blurb about the trailer, the documentary turned into an inspiring story about two men who realize that “the only person that can save them is themselves.”

Please watch the 5 minute trailer that introduces Joe’s incredible journey. BTW, the doctor you see in the video with Joe is Dr. Joel Fuhrman. Dr. Fuhrman helps patients improve health through nutrition excellence.

If this video intrigued you, I highly recommend a further 2 minute video by Joe on fruit, vegetables and the power of juicing.

I don’t know about you, but after watching the videos, I feel a craving for freshly juiced vegetables and fruits. Joe spreads his message at Join the Reboot.

In a previous post (click here), I mentioned that I noticed a significant improvement in the level of pain and inflammation from RA since I removed gluten and eggs from my diet. In addition, I don’t experience the severe flare-ups as I did before the diet change or the thick heavy achy feeling.

During the last few weeks, I’ve had a number of medical appointments that add further testament that I’m on the right track. Here is the latest news in brief;

Naturopath visit –  live blood cell analysis looked more  normal.

Rheumatologist visit – blood-work results show ESR (detects level of inflammation activity) is down to a manageable level 7 (anything under 20 is considered normal). However, according to my rheumatologist ESR isn’t the only test they use to diagnose inflammatory conditions. While RA symptoms have greatly subsided, it is evident I still have a moderate level of disease activity.

Echo-cardiogram – normal.

I still have a way to go yet to get to where I want to be, but all in all, I think this is wonderful news so far. The elimination of gluten, eggs and the increase in vegetables and fruits, I believe, has contributed to a much improved RA condition.

Here is a recap of the foods I consume on a more or less daily basis. Fresh or frozen organic when possible fruits and vegetables, kefir, sauerkraut, salmon and limited gluten-free eggless baked goods. Recently, I tried adding small amounts of bio-dynamic stewing beef to my vegetable dishes. For cooking I use coconut oil and turmeric. I also take various vitamin supplements and nutritional supports like Vega or a naturopath recommended support.

Plans for the future include to resume juicing and stay consistent with a high daily vegetable intake. I have discovered that I have way less food cravings and hunger attacks when I eat an adequate amount of nutrient rich foods daily.

So, what am I learning? Watching videos from people like Dr.Terry Wahls who cured her MS and Joe Cross who cured a rare autoimmune disease is inspiring and validates that hard-core lifestyle changes are paramount to move the body into balance and health.

Thanks again for reading. Have a wonderful weekend!

Disclaimer: This blog is for informational purposes only and is based solely on my own personal experience. No medical advice is given or intended by the owner of this blog. Please consult a health care professional for advice.

10 thoughts on “A day in a life with rheumatoid arthritis – Part 7- Fat Sick and Nearly Dead – the movie

  1. Hi Marianne,

    Thanks for sharing your diet, which is interesting. I’m thinking about starting juicing, as I know I don’t get as many veggies as I could on a daily basis, and it does sound so healthy. Glad you are feeling better!!

    • Hi Cathy,

      It’s great to hear that you want to start juicing. My brother’s partner began juicing last year because blood tests showed issues with her thyroid. Now her blood tests are showing normal activity. They are convinced of the value in juicing.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Cathy. And, thank you for the good wishes. All the best!

    • Thank you Kathy. It’s definitely great to go from severe to moderate RA. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it continues. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. Have a great weekend as well, my friend. Hugs back.

  2. Pingback: A day in a life with rheumatoid Arthritis – Day 8: What Do I Do Now? | Grandeurvision

  3. Pingback: The Future is Now | The Meaning for my Life

Leave a comment