A Wonderful Blessing

Acts of kindness

I had the most wonderful blessing today.
Shocked and stunned, I didn’t know what to say.

A young woman arrived at my door with a smile.
In her outstretched arms waited a box with a pile.

“An anonymous donor wanted you to have this,” she said.
Tears of gratitude welled and wonderings danced in my head.

“This is a blessing box,” she exclaimed.
“You will find a note inside to explain.”

What a surprise, I thought, as I thanked the young woman we said good-bye.
To the kitchen table I went with the heaped blessing box held with a tie.

My fingers fumbled with the string,
I wondered how to budge the thing.

Feeling like a child and then,
Excitement filled my heart again.

I’m sure this feeling I do not deserve.
Is it more appropriate to be reserve?

I removed the bulging wobbly lid
And peered inside just like a kid.

Ooooo, Ahhhhh, my hands touched many a thing.
How did they know the time to bring?

With bank account dwindled and the fridge bare,
I couldn’t help but sit and stare.

Everything I needed just to get by.
Suddenly fell in my lap right out of the sky.

I’m humbled to hear Spirit say, I knew ya…
With a grateful heart I sing Hallelujah.

Copyright, Marianne Irvine and Grandeurvision, 2010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Marianne Irvine and Grandeurvision with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

6 thoughts on “A Wonderful Blessing

Leave a comment